Main Types of Probiotics (continued)

What are the main types of Probiotics?

Lactobacillus, Bifidobacterium, Saccharomyces, Streptococcus, Bacillus and Escherichia coli.

1. Lactobacillus – Lactobacillus, Lactococcus, Enterococcus, Oenococcus, Pediococcus, Streptococcus and Leuconostoc. These lactic acid bacteria strains use sugar to metabolize into lactic acid, thus creating a hostile environment for the grown of harmful bacteria.

2. Bifidobacterium– Bifidobacterium infantis, B. adolescentis, B. animalis subsp animalis, B. animalis subsp lactis, B. bifidum, B. longum, B. breve. Bifidobacterium reside in the

gastrointestinal tract and vagina of humans. Strains used as probiotic bacteria are known for their resistance to bile salts.

3. Saccharomyces – Saccharomyces cerevisiae, S. bayanus, S. boulardii. Saccharomyces

includes a variety of yeasts used for its beneficial properties.

Saccharomyces cerevisiae: used in the preparation of wine, bread and beer

Saccharomyces bayanus: also used for making wine

Saccharomyces boulardii: used as a probiotic in medicine

Saccharomyces yeasts are also used with bacteria in the preparation of kefir, and sometimes kombucha.

4. Escherichia – Escherichia coli

Commonly known as its virulent form, this bacterium, used in conjunction with other probiotics, has proven to treat a variety of gastrointestinal disorders.

4. BACILLUS – B. subtilis, B. coagulans, B. subtilis, B. cereus. Bacillus includes spore forming bacteria, and is characterized by having a seed-like structure that promotes protection from harsh conditions in the form of endospores. These conditions include high temperatures, stomach acid, digestive enzymes, bile salts and even chemical damage.